A new model of producing! Go Go Go GODSPELL!

What are you getting your Mom for Christmas this year? How about a CREDIT on a BROADWAY MUSICAL. It only costs you a thousand bucks!

You may think I’m joking. But I’m not.

Visit People Of Godspell and find out how.

I am absolutely in love with this idea. If it weren’t taken already I would have done it for my sequel to The Importance of Being Earnest! But enough about me, let’s talk about Me…

And my not so secret crush on wunderkind producer Ken Davenport. (by the way, to all of those who keep ending up on this site, because you enter, “is Ken Davenport gay?” on your search engine. the answer is. NO. He’s not. My crush on him is strictly businessexual.)

Recently my business partner on AMZ Creative, Lanie Zipoy and experienced doing a new kind of theatre; for a new kind of audience, check Northpoint. It was an extremely satisfying event. Because we were dealing with theatre in a completely different non-profit level that we’d ever dealt before.

My television writing partner Armistead Johnson and I, also used momentum from a motion picture script I’m working on, to land a couple of great meetings. When we were preparing our presentation packages we also started thinking of new ways to package our product. It’s no longer enough to have a flawless script you can present. You have to know the business, your demographics, the ways in which your creation can be re-packaged for other medias.

All in all, it’s an exhilarating time to be creative. Because we’re in a point in history, where being creative is not just enough, you have to be a creative-entrepenaur.

A CREATEPENAUR!

And that’s why I crush on Ken. Cause Ken is always asking questions. How to do this faster, better, buzzier?  Which in turn makes me ask myself questions.

Albeit I’m phasing out of theatre, to pursue a full on TV career. I do feel that Ken is going to continue to create new ways to bring theatre to the people. And I think that’s important. I think if theatre is to survive (I recently read an article that even the big hits find it hard to recoup.) Then I think he’s the man to do it.

Plus let’s face it. It’s BALLSY.  And I bet, every theatre producer in town right now is wishing they were this ballsy.

As for me! I did say I was going to phase out of theatre. hmm? What to do? what to do?


Leave a Reply

