Monday Muse-ing – The Mendez/Nieves Women

On my first installment of Monday Muse-ings.  I talked about Michelle Williams.  However, this time around, I am going to bring it closer to home.

I want to about the Muses that have been there the entire time.  My mom and two sisters.

When we came to Jersey, from Puerto Rico, back in 19 cough cough cough 4.

I had no idea what a major influence in my life and creativity my family would be on me.  Well, mostly my mom and my sisters.

This is my mom:

Yeah, you will see I come from a gene pool of hotties!

I love this picture cause my mom totally has a Jackie Kennedy thing going for her.

My mom may just be the most dedicated, most inspiring person I have ever met.  The thing is, she never stops. She’s an early riser, always doing something kind of mom.   I mean, the woman has energy to spare.

She also has ingenuity.  She’s always finding a way to fix a problem that is just freaking creative.

I think as a writer, you always have to give in to that human instinct of ingenuity and solve your problems in the most creative way possible.

I give my mom thanks for that gift.

This is my sister Lizette.  That’s me. Oh god, I had weight issues even then!

I definitely know I’m a terrible speller  because I cannot for the life of me still spell her name! I think i got it right.

My sister Lizette was my protector.  I know, I know.  But the girl was just not to be trifled with.  She will not give in or surrender. She really is a warrior, and in a way fearless.  She could drive me back to college under an hour.  The trip is a 2 hour and 12 minute ride, but i swear to god, she loved to drive fast.  Scared the hell out of me.

There have been many a times she has come to my rescue.  I mean, if your computer crashes, call Lissy, she will talk you down from your nervous breakdown and walk you through a way to fix it.

This is my other sister, Lourdes. And she’s pretty much the reason I am a writer and an entertainer. You see, I played with her a lot.  When we were kids, and she was younger, so I had to take care of her, I would act her all of INTO THE WOODS, until she learned it and started singing along.  She would watch me act out for her songs, and stories i would write for her and then have the barbie’s play.  She still did not like the ones where I set Barbie’s house on fire.  Wonder what that was about?

But she was the one that taught me the power of story telling.  Because I remember her as a child, sitting there in awe of the bullshit stories I created.

Even today, when I write something, part of it is for her.  I wonder, what is she going to think when she’s in the audience.  And when she laughs, or when I see her face light up from the back of the theatre. There is not a better feeling.

She set me on the path that I am today. And for that I will always be thankful.

One Response to “Monday Muse-ing – The Mendez/Nieves Women”

  1. You are so awesome, and you are so right about your mom. I’m pretty sure Lizzy and Yas are also so proud of you. We love you very much!

Leave a Reply

