Fringe Talk

Whenever I think Fringe, I don’t think the FOX TV SHOW.

I think of 2008, and the New York International Fringe Festival.  It was the Fringe that gave me my playwrighting a kick off, and it was Leonard Jacobs review of my Fringe piece that raised my off-off broadway profile.

That show was Thoroughly Stupid Things, and it is one of my favorite experiences ever.

Last night i was happy to be an audience on FRINGE TALK – a LIVE TOWN HALL.

Moderated by Leonard Jacobs.

The staff of the Fringe are sort of my heroes, each year they manage to put in over 200 shows, and have an audience of 75,000 thousand.

Because of my full-time job, I could never really volunteer, but I do review every year as part of the nytheatre.com Fringe Reviewers Team headed by the super awesome Martin Denton.

I think what I love the most is Elena Holy’s passion for the Fringe Festival.  She got teary eyed, sharing stories about Fringe’s past, it’s just so fantastic, and I really couldn’t imagine the Fringe without her spirit.

Applications will be available soon.

They will be hosting another Fringe Talk Town Hall Conversation soon.  So to keep updated become a fan on their FringeNYC Facebook Fan Page.

And just because I’m walking down memory lane. here’s a couple of Pictures from my production.  Such good times.

Stephanie Lovelle as Ms. Prism

Synge Maher

as Inspector Raynier

Link to Leonard Jacob’s review:

2008__Thoroughly_Stupid_Things_or_the_Continuous_Importance_of_Being_Earnest

Seriously

the Fringe for me was a life changing experience.  And one that I hope to repeat again!

Leave a Reply

