spotlight Sarah Edmondson

This year AMZ Creative will periodically feature someone from the industry, and just talk about life.  This week, AMZ got to talk with Vancouver based actress Sarah Edmondson…

 

AMZ: What moves you as an artist and why?

SE: I am most moved as an artist to tell stories… to express aspects of the human condition through film and theatre that allow the audience to feel those struggles deeply and to hopefully offer a cathartic experience whereby they are moved emotionally or are able to have a shift in consciousness. I remember seeing a play when I was young, about a family that was very different from my own. I don’t remember the piece, or the plot, but I remember the feeling I had afterwards—deep sadness and joy. I knew then that I wanted to be an actor, to create art that allows people to feel deeply and to connect with parts of themselves (and the world) they had been otherwise unable to experience. In turn, I evaluate art by these criteria. If I am not moved emotionally, I don’t find the art effective as art. The extent to which I am moved is my personal gauge to critique its quality. Of course I recognize this way of measuring is completely subjective, but at the same time am constantly amazed at the universal language of our collective human experience.

 

 

AMZ: How does art relate to human experience, and what does that mean to you?

 

SE: Art allows us to know ourselves better through the lens of another person’s perspective. Our breadth and depth of self-knowledge increases, as does our understanding of our oneness as the human team. To enhance the human experience is to embark on a journey of self-discovery and to learn to become present, solid and aware of the interconnectedness of all things. It’s my greatest joy to play ANY part to enhance our collective human experience, whether that part be a role on stage or in film, or my role in real life as a friend, mentor, or in other capacities.

 

I had the opportunity once to play the role of Lucie in a wonderful play called “Wedgie.” This character was painfully awkward and wanted so much to fit in with her peers. Not only was I able to heal some aspects of my own challenges from childhood, but I was also able to portray Lucie’s journey to our young audience. The most significant moment of that production for me was a conversation I had after the show one day when this little girl came up to me and shared how much she had learned from watching the play. She felt relief to know she was not alone in feeling so separate and to know that she could find herself and learn to love herself. This conversation has contributed to my desire to keep performing, writing and sharing.

 

AMZ: What are you currently working on?

 

SE: Myself! I have been doing a lot of personal growth recently. I find working on myself deepens my expression as an actor and helps me feel more grounded when I audition and perform. I am getting clearer on what’s important to me and the kind of work I want to do: Films to benefit people and the world as a whole. I wrote a solo show, called “Dead Bird” that I turned into a short film. I would like to take the project further this year and learn more about the process of film production… The journey continues.

 

2 Responses to “spotlight Sarah Edmondson”

  1. Jennifer G. Says:

    I’m not often moved by interviews, though those were inspiring words. It’s wonderful to have such a person in society these days – such people seem so few and far between that it’s saddening. Thank you for interviewing such an interesting individual. I look fowward to seeing more on her journey in the future.

Leave a Reply

